python gui programming

jim leahy

i started learning python last year and as a script language it's pretty powerful, but i'm
used to gui programming in java. i looked at tkinter and it is ok but very tedious. are there other
python programmers in this forum? what gui packages are you using? i need a gui editor like
what's available in java and android.

SG

I haven't seen any ... but I imagine there might be there. I believe there are application interface building tools that you can reference in the python code, sort of like HTML elements when building a web page.

Marcas

Unfortunately I cant answer with experience as I've never found time to deep dive in into this topic.
I suppose you did your search and I dont have to mention QT and others with all pros and cons.
In on my radar are two position for future investigation: Dash and Justpy.
For now Im fine with widgets and Plotly in Jupyter - they provide sufficient level of interaction for my needs.
Good luck.
I'll be happy to hear about your findings.

garyw

I am unaware of any, but am new to Python myself. However I do believe there is a great deal of interest for this.
If you discover something you think has "legs", please post to give others a heads-up!

BTW: If you have and like java for GUI, is there not a way to have your cake and eat it too? by allowing your Py to control/interact with java?
Have you looked at gnuplot? -- It has some decent graphing which I drive from Perl. I have not tried it with Python yet.

jim leahy

thanks for the inputs, guys.
QT looks interesting but it seems like a very steep learning curve for my purposes.
also, i have a lot of reservations about cross-platform development. dash is more for web development and
i already invested a lot of time on a different web development approach. as primitive as it is, tkinter seems
usable for simple gui python applications. the others that work similarly, kivy and wxpython aren't any better,