Rough cut of TOS SCAN sorted by Extrinsic % of underlying

garyw

Gold Member
This is a simple/rough clip relating to Tim's query of TOS SCAN using Extrinsic % of underlying.

The snip of thinkscript in the clip should be modified as shown below: To reflect the option MID (current mid) instead of the close.
1599660140192.png

Last edited:
Sorry! I mistakenly thought I could post there for free. Unable to post the clip in Aeromir (complained that the 5MB size was too great), so was looking for a way to post it.
Try this one:

You may need to download, then play it.

If anyone has a recommendation for a location to post such things for free, let me know.

I tried to type it in but it comes up with a lot of syntax errors
Was that written in some other language ? Think script doesn't seem to like it It says invalid statement for the first line
Although I must admit I am no expert in think script
It's not that important to me but hopefully Tim can figure it out

This may be easier to read, but is identical functionality.
FYI: ThinkScript is not the most intuitive syntax and is not a programming language, but can be coerced into providing useful functionality.

# Create Metric of Extrinsic as % of underlying
def strike= getStrike();
def put = isPut();
def EquityPrice = close(getunderlyingSymbol());
def optionPrice=(bid+ask)/2;
def intrinsic= if put then strike - EquityPrice else EquityPrice - strike;
def extrinsic = if intrinsic <= 0 then optionPrice else optionPrice - intrinsic;
plot ExtrinsicDivEquity=100*(extrinsic/EquityPrice);

Yes we did talk about it. I think Tom just hasnt got the recording posted.

meanwhile i continue to improve it with Gary. We have something now that makes it easier to rank possible trades. I will talk about it more next Thursday.

Gary/Tim,
Can you to post the Thinkscript for the last column used to create the scan for - ITM_CC_Weighting, in this forum please.